PC-Forums


MS and 1809

Glamdring

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 429
Reply #50 on: February 08, 2019, 10:32:09 PM
Not a chance.


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #51 on: February 08, 2019, 11:41:35 PM
 :laugh:

I've updated, so far so good

Strange that my desktop couldn't update with the app. I quit half way through using the media creation tool, just in case it causes any problems

It may have been due to the fact that I cloned the hard drive and the permissions didn't allow me to use the other app for some strange reason
« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 01:29:10 AM by richietog »


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 663
Reply #52 on: February 10, 2019, 01:56:36 PM
Guess what I've just been handed?

A fucked laptop.

Old guy said it updated when he went to bed earlier in the week and now boots into a busted profile,
Tried all sorts of recovery methods but its a system reset and see how that goes.  :cheesy:


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #53 on: February 10, 2019, 07:59:32 PM
Guess what I've just been handed?

A fucked laptop.

Old guy said it updated when he went to bed earlier in the week and now boots into a busted profile,
Tried all sorts of recovery methods but its a system reset and see how that goes.  :cheesy:

Busted profile? Wonder what he did to have gotten a busted profile? Maybe turned off his computer too early


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 663
Reply #54 on: February 11, 2019, 07:20:38 AM
It's one of the bugs in 1809.


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #55 on: February 11, 2019, 07:45:05 AM
It's one of the bugs in 1809.

I'm finding no issues, though my desktop is finding issues with only updating



richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #57 on: February 15, 2019, 06:34:28 PM
I feel like updating Windows the hard way, it just won't update no matter what I try with the Windows Update Assistant


Glamdring

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 429
Reply #58 on: February 18, 2019, 03:54:36 PM
Don't. Let them fix it and announce to the world that it's fixed. They haven't yet.


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #59 on: February 18, 2019, 09:20:40 PM
Well, its too late  :embarrassed:


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 663
Reply #60 on: February 18, 2019, 09:22:29 PM
Oh dear...

Did it work?  :azn:


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 333
Reply #61 on: February 19, 2019, 12:11:57 AM
Oh dear...

Did it work?  :azn:

Still working for me


Glamdring

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 429
Reply #62 on: March 19, 2019, 09:51:38 PM
My HTPC, which is a fairly new build with not much on it other than video stuff, finally got the 1809 tonight. We'll see. My other PC and lappy are still on 1803.


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 663
Reply #63 on: March 19, 2019, 10:21:51 PM
My new laptop is on 1809.

If you're on Pro, you can disable the updates and stop it pestering to Update and Restart/Shutdown through gpedit.msc