PC-Forums


Game Display Resolution

grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
on: February 15, 2019, 03:30:36 PM
Hi all had this problem for a long time i have a pionneer pdp 5000ex plasma tv i use desktop resolution at 1080p my tv will display up two 5k when i display desktop over 1080p desktop gets blurry even with the option to reduce blur is on games are not effected and do not blur.
Some games i play at 2k or 4k depending on fps the problem is i dont know why thay lock some games to desktop resolution normaly i can change the resolution through ini or through config file.
I have paid for ace combat 7 and it will only display 1080p i have changed the resolution through C:\Users\your name\AppData\Local\BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment\ACE COMBAT 7\Config to 1440pi have even put it as read only.
Still will only display 1080p unless i change desktop resolution any help would be apriciated or ill get my money back through steam.


thanks mark


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 265
Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 05:33:35 PM
What graphics card do you have installed? And what version Windows?


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #2 on: February 15, 2019, 05:43:24 PM
Sorry should of put that Rryzen 1600x 16gb ddr4 nvidia 1070 gtx just dont understand why game producers limmit some games to desktop resolution titanfall 1 and 2 quantum break a way out ace combat 6 ok and most other games fine just some games limmited thanks.


richietog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 265
Reply #3 on: February 15, 2019, 06:31:54 PM
Do you mean the game play is blurry or just everything like Windows and other games?
Because googling the main suspect i.e. the tv its a fairly old tv dating back to 2007


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #4 on: February 15, 2019, 08:01:01 PM
Native resolution is always best, in your case it'll be 1080.

With a 4K display, you can go down the way to half res (UHD 2440) or even quarter res (HD 1080), but you can't really go up the way with an HD 1080 since you don't have the pixel density (you can't turn one pixel into two or four)


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #5 on: February 16, 2019, 08:12:05 AM
I mean only the desktop is blurry at over 1080p games display fine at any resolution 2k/4k (battlefield 4) 4k sharp image (titanfall 2) 2k sharp image its an old tv but has a good response time and great colors it was £11,000 when it was released.
Just think some games makers lock games at desktop resolution i would like to play ace combat 7 at a higher resolution without having to change my desktop resolution running windows 10.
thanks


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #6 on: February 16, 2019, 08:44:09 AM
You can't get 4K or UHD res out of a HD 1080 TV, it's physically impossible. (As you can see when you try to set the Windows Desktop at a higher res)

Logically, the games must be detecting the display res and setting it to 1080.
(The desktop res has nothing to do with the game res, they're independent with the game res being set within the game itself)


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #7 on: February 16, 2019, 08:50:30 AM
The tv was over 10 grand when it came out this is gamplay recorded at 4k on my setup
&t=228s


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #8 on: February 16, 2019, 08:57:34 AM
It doesn't matter how much it cost, it's still only 1080.

1920x1080 = 2, 073,600 pixels
3840x2160 = 8,294,400 pixels

You can't turn 2 million into 8 million.


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #9 on: February 16, 2019, 09:07:45 AM
This a pic of my desktop at 4k http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=f3xd86&s=9#.XGfST7jgp60 one on nvidia display pannel and one from settings no dsr no you cant turn 2 million into 8 but the tv does support it.


Glamdring

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 305
Reply #10 on: February 16, 2019, 10:16:10 AM
Am I understanding this correctly, that when you display the same game on your desktop and your TV at the same time, it's displaying both at the resolution of your 1080p TV?
https://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tips/different-resolutions-for-multiple-monitors-in-windows-10/


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #11 on: February 16, 2019, 01:01:21 PM
i increased desktop resolution to 4k just to show that my tv will support 4k i can play any game at 4k when desktop is set to 4k but i perfer desktop at 1080 as desktop is crisper and games are not blurry at 4k just the desktop most games i can corrrect through config or ini like battlefield 1 desktop set as 1080p no problem setting game to 4k without changing config or ini titanfall 2 desktop 1080p  ini changed to 2560x1440 works perfect but im short sighted so i would perfer to have desktop at 1080p sorry my grammer as priety dire. thanks


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #12 on: February 16, 2019, 01:51:36 PM
Your graphics card could say it supports 8K for all it matters, but you won't get that from your TV.

Read this very carefully: The Maximum Resolution Your TV Supports is HD @ 1920x1080
That's its native resolution and what you should be using for all applications/games.

You might find that your gfx card is upscaling when you set it to UHD, but there is no more detail present than if it was set to 1080....it's exactly the same, but you'll probably lose some performance as the card has to work harder to present the same detail you'd already have at native res.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/4k-ultra-hd-uhd-vs-1080p-full-hd-tvs-and-upscaling-compared


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #13 on: February 16, 2019, 02:11:26 PM
i know u are only tring to help im 50 year old started on the commodore amiga taking hdd from old pc and replacing in the amiga i have bean building pc ever since and do pc repairs for dreads audio workshop this is def not an issue with the card as had the same problem with my 970 gtx and when you change the resolution you can see the changes in graphics and when you edit the ini or config on some games or software the mouse cursor reduces in size and when you take a screen shot or download an ultra hd 25 to 50 gig you can go and get the properties to that file and get resolution  just done screen resolution test https://www.infobyip.com/detectscreenresolution.php Your screen resolution and color depth are:
3840 x 2160 x 24


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #14 on: February 16, 2019, 03:32:37 PM
Your display is not 3840x2160x24, despite what your system thinks it is (or what your system is set to), it's 1920x1080 end of story....it doesn't get any better than that.
https://www.trustedreviews.com/reviews/pioneer-pdp-5000ex-50in-plasma-tv

And I'm 52, so it's not an age thing.  :wink:
(Glamdring is about 90......or sounds it, with the amount of complaints he has.)  :cheesy:


-edit- Re 4K
You might not want it unless you have a really large display.
I bought a 4K 28" monitor last year thinking it would help productivity since I could have more spreadsheets, PDF's, Word docs on the screen at the same time....but I forgot one important point.
..The font has to be the same size in order to read them, so there was no real gain over my old 26" 1900x1200 monitor.

Movies and games sure, detail is better but even on UHD my old AMD R9 390 struggles to the extent that full 4K is not possible for gaming (without significant framerate drops) and even UHD can drop the framerates to below 40fps on some AAA games.

I should have done what my mate just did and gone for a 30" UHD monitor that supports framerates of up to 144MHz.  :wink:


That's another thing that leads me to believe you games are upscaling, for 4K gaming at reasonable framerates your graphics card would need to be top end...in the Nvidia 2080Ti range to get framerates in the 60's
At the moment those cards are well over £1000 (that's the current price of driving 8 million pixels)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2019, 03:57:01 PM by Wooster »


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #15 on: February 16, 2019, 07:27:28 PM
i agree fps are the main issue idd love a 2070ti or 2080 i can run  rise of the tomb raider at 1080 over 60 fps 1440p average around 46 fps 4k well 32 ish thats why i dont if it was upscalled the fps would be far better ie dsr.
Upscalling takes less power to upscale then reduce to 1080 thats why we have consoles claiming 4k Excuse my spelling changine resolution kills amount of fps you can get.
I only have select games at 4k some games are impractical on my system but upscalling will not take over half your fps i used dsr on my old system not on many games as the comparison between 1080p and upscalling was marginal but if my eyeballs can see the differance clearly i belive my brain its not upscaled.
Good to have a dissagreement with u none of us are going to get anyware i dont mean that funny no hard feelings cheers.


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #16 on: February 16, 2019, 08:04:21 PM
If I had a 2080Ti i'd be hoping to run RoTR at around 60fps on my 4K monitor mate, but I don't have a spare £1300 to spend on one.

(I do tbh, but I have other shit I'd rather spend it on)   :wink:


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #17 on: February 16, 2019, 09:56:05 PM
btw...have you tried playing a 4K YouTube video on a 4K monitor?

All it does is buffer and stutter.
(200MB connection, so not slow)


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #18 on: February 17, 2019, 10:14:47 AM
have played 4k on my systen and downloaded uhd filmd both work fine


grangler

  • Newbie
  • *
    • Posts: 10
Reply #19 on: February 17, 2019, 12:17:59 PM
Fixed issue now have desktop at 4k used this software xpexplorer dpi fix https://www.softpedia.com/dyn-postdownload.php/f3bc7a5173644e6fc59083b2582bbc03/5c695eb9/3d32d/4/1 desktop alot clearer thanks


Wooster

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 503
Reply #20 on: February 18, 2019, 10:07:07 AM
It's still not 4K  :cheesy:

It's worth noting that the DPI fixes are for high DPI displays that go a bit blurry when you downscale (windows 7 is particularly poor with 4K displays).
What you have done is set a resolution too high for your display through your graphics card and then used a bit of software to bring it back to 1080, when all you needed to do is set it to 1080 from the get go.

This image is my Windows 10 desktop at 4k (native res) with no scaling.

http://i63.tinypic.com/20l4yd.jpg

And this one is with the scaling at 150%, which makes the icons easier to see.

http://i66.tinypic.com/2v7uxon.jpg

If you had a true 4K display, then it should look like the 1st image and pin sharp.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2019, 11:05:20 AM by Wooster »